fbpx

Faculty & Staff

The child is at the centre of every parent’s world, and likewise every IB programme. IGBIS firmly believes the single most important factor that determines the quality of education for all children is the teacher.

IGBIS teachers are highly qualified, internationally experienced, and enthusiastic IB practitioners, who show commitment to the children in their care. In this context, IGBIS teachers have successful experience with IB PYP, IB MYP, IB CP and/or IB Diploma Programme, and embody the spirit of both the IB and of the inclusiveness that underlies the school’s Vision and Mission. As role models of the IB Learner Profile, the teachers exhibit the skills required to work in collaborative planning teams and the flexibility to undertake more than one subject area.

Senior Management Team

Anne Fowles


Head of School
Qualification: M.B.A. (Educational Management), Adv. Dip. Tchg., Diploma of Education
Nationality: New Zealander
anne.fowles@igbis.edu.my

Mrs. Fowles has over 20 years of diverse experience leading schools in New Zealand, China, Thailand, Mongolia, Fiji and Malaysia. She is experienced as a team chair for the Council of International Schools (CIS), the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) and the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) accreditation agencies, as well as being an IB team leader for school verification and evaluation, and an IB workshop leader, consultant, field representative and presenter at various conferences. 

Mrs. Fowles is a member of the Council of International Schools Board of Trustees and President of the Association of Malaysian IB Schools. Previously she has been Chair of the IB Heads Council, a member of the IB Board of Governors, a member of the IB Asia Pacific Regional Council, Chair of the Association of Chinese and Mongolian IB Schools (ACMIBS) and President of the Association of China and Mongolia International Schools (ACAMIS). 

IGB International School offers a premier International Baccalaureate experience to its students, provided by very experienced teachers in an exceptional school facility. Mrs. Fowles is proud to be its Head of School.

Simon Millward

Elementary School Principal
Qualification: M.B.A. (Educational Management), B.A. (Hons.) Physical Education & Recreation, QTS (Primary Education)
Nationality: British
simon.millward@igbis.edu.my

Mr Millward has been teaching abroad for over 20 years and has previously worked in schools in Kuwait, Germany, Thailand and Turkey. He has extensive training and experience teaching both the PYP and MYP IB programmes. He is a workshop leader in both the PYP and the MYP, and he is a PYP school visitor team leader and team member. He loves to coach football of all ages and has been known to MC and sing at school events.

Michael Arcidiacono

Secondary School Principal
Qualification: Doctorate Of Educational Leadership, K-12 Administrative License, M.Sc. (Mathematics), B.A. (Mathematics)
Nationality: American
michael.arcidiacono@igbis.edu.my

Dr Arcidiacono originally trained as a teacher of mathematics and has taught all levels of MYP, IGCSE and DP mathematics over the course of his educational career. He moved into school administration while working internationally inBrazil and subsequently completed his master’s degree and administrative licensure in the United States. He then worked in Suzhou, China as MiddleSchool Principal of an MYP school. While in China, Dr Arcidiacono developed his passion for the MYP, led the 1-1 laptop integration initiative and initiated student-Led Conferences, amongst other contributions.

Before joining IGBIS in 2016, Dr Arcidiacono was the Head of Secondary of anMYP/IGCSE/DP international school in Sao Paulo, Brazil. There he managed the growth of a young school that doubled in population over a short period of time. Last year, he completed his doctorate in educational leadership.

Elementary School

Aga Chojnacka

PYP Coordinator
Qualification: M.A. Applied Linguistics (specialising in Teaching & Translation), B.A. (TEFL)
Nationality: Polish
aga.chojnacka@igbis.edu.my

Alexandru Milescu

PYP Music Teacher 
Qualification: B.A. in Music (Music Pedagogy); M.A. (Musicology), QTS
Nationality: Romanian
alex.milescu@igbis.edu.my

Caitlan Hurrell

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip. Teaching & Learning; B.Ed. endorsed with P.E.
Nationality: New Zealander
caitlan.hurrell@igbis.edu.my

Elli Lawson

Elementary Visual Art Teacher
Qualification: B.A. Ed. (Hons) (Design Technology), QTS
Nationality: British
elli.lawson@igbis.edu.my

Ivy Tean-Cant

PYP Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: Cert. TEFL, London Teacher Training College
Nationality: Malaysian
ivy.cant@igbis.edu.my

Jeanette Rowe

EY – KG Coordinator
Qualification: BA.Hons (Health Studies) AMI Primary Diploma
Nationality: British
jeanette.rowe@igbis.edu.my

Kari Twedt

PYP Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed. (Teaching), B.A. (Elementary Education)
Nationality: American
Kari.Twedt@igbis.edu.my

Kenneth Rowe

PYP Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed (Curriculum and Instruction); B.A. (Sociology) Nationality: American
ken.rowe@igbis.edu.my

Lisa McClurg

PYP Teacher and ES Language Coordinator
Qualification: B.Ed.
Nationality: New Zealander
lisa.mcclurg@igbis.edu.my

Lizzie Hudson

PYP Learning Support Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Inclusive and Special Education)
Nationality: American, British
elizabeth.hudson@igbis.edu.my

Marshall Hudson

PYP Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Elementary Education)
Nationality: American
marshall.hudson@igbis.edu.my

Megan Ngatai

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip. Tchg. and Learn. (Primary), B.A. (Psychology)
Nationality: New Zealander
megan.ngatai@igbis.edu.my

Nadia Ghazali

Fireflies Teacher
Qualification: BA (Education)
Nationality: Malaysian
nadia.ghazali@igbis.edu.my

Nancy Fu

PYP Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: M.S., B.Ed. (Primary), B.A. (English Literature and Language)
Nationality: Chinese
nancy.fu@igbis.edu.my

Natasha Panthakee

PYP Teacher
Qualification: B.Ed. (Elementary); B.A. (Sociology and Philosophy)
Nationality: Canadian
natasha.panthakee@igbis.edu.my

Olha Rohachova

PYP Teacher
Qualification: PhD (Ed.)
Nationality: Ukrainian
olha.rohachova@igbis.edu.my

Rachel Bandelin

PYP Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Elementary Education)
Nationality: American
rachel.bandelin@igbis.edu.my

Rhona Taylor

PYP Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Hons) European Studies (with French), PGCE (Primary), British Cycling Coach (L.2)
Nationality: British
rhona.taylor@igbis.edu.my

Sally Watters

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip.Ed., Bachelor of Arts / Languages
Nationality: Australian
sally.watters@igbis.edu.my

Scott Ngatai

PYP Physical Education Teacher
Qualification: B. Phys.Ed., Dip. Tchg.
Nationality: New Zealander
scott.ngatai@igbis.edu.my

Shireen Blakeway

PYP Teacher and ES Mathematics Coordinator
Qualification: M.Sc. (Education Management), COGE, B.A.(Hons.) Geography, PGCE (Primary)
Nationality: British, Australian
shireen.blakeway@igbis.edu.my

Steven Harvey

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip.Tchg., Grad.Dip.Ed. (Computers in Education)
Nationality: Australian
steven.harvey@igbis.edu.my

Wayne Demnar

ESOL Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed., Dip School Counselling, Dip Teach.,B.Ed.
Nationality: Australian
wayne.demnar@igbis.edu.my

Wei Jun Thong

PYP Physical Education Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Edu. in Teaching & Learning)
Nationality: Malaysian
weijun.thong@igbis.edu.my

Secondary School

Darryl Harding

MYP Coordinator
Qualification: B.Sc, MA, M.Ed, Graduate Certificate in Ed. Leadership, 7-12 Mathematics Certified
Nationality: Canadian
darryl.harding@igbis.edu.my

Magnus Drechsler

DP/CP Coordinator
Qualification: M.A. (International Educational Leadership and Change), Post Graduate Certificate of Education in Secondary Education, B.Sc. Medicinal Chemistry
Nationality: German
magnus.drechsler@igbis.edu.my

Abdul Rashid Mohd Amin

MYP Host Nation, Malay Language and DP Malay Teacher
Qualification: Diploma in Mathematics Education, Certificate of Teaching (Bahasa Malaysia)
Nationality: Malaysian
rashid.mohdamin@igbis.edu.my

Adam Gagan

MYP Individuals and Societies and DP History, Subject Leader (Individuals & Societies)
Qualification: MA and BA Hons in Military History, PGCE History
Nationality: British
adam.gagan@igbis.edu.my

Bill Mitchell

Secondary School Counsellor
Qualification: B.A., B.Ed., M.Sc.
Nationality: Canadian
bill.mitchell@igbis.edu.my

Darren Aherne

MYP Science and DP Biology Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed. (Secondary Education), B.Sc. (Aquatic Biology)
Nationality: American
darren.aherne@igbis.edu.my

Dean Watters

MYP and DP Mathematics Teacher, Subject Leader (Mathematics)
Qualification: B.E., Dip. Ed.
Nationality: Australian
dean.watters@igbis.edu.my

Flavia Godja

MYP Language Acquisition & ESOL Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (International Relations and European Studies); CELTA certificate, TKT Modules 1-3, YL, CLIL
Nationality: Romanian
flavia.godja@igbis.edu.my

Gizem Inanç

MYP Design, MYP English LA & DP English B
Qualification: B.A. (Foreign Language Education, English Language Teaching) M.A. (Media and Communication Studies), CELTA certificate Nationality: Turkish
gizem.inanc@igbis.edu.my

Hadewych Dujardin

MYP Music / DP Music, Instrumental Programme Coordinator
Qualification: B.A. Music (Music-Flute, Composition)
Nationality: Belgian
hadewych.dujardin@igbis.edu.my

Heather Blake

MYP and DP Art Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed, International Education; GDip, Education; BFA, Art Education; BA, Psychology & Art History
Nationality: Canadian
heather.blake@igbis.edu.my

Ian Ellston

MYP and DP Design Teacher , Subject Leader (Design)
Qualification: BEd(Hons)
Nationality: British
ian.ellston@igbis.edu.my

Jamie Cant

MYP Performing Arts and DP Theatre Teacher
Qualification: BA (English) Dip Ed (Drama, English, Humanities)
Nationality: Australian
jamie.cant@igbis.edu.my

Jane Cheu

MYP and DP Chinese B and Ab Initio Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Chinese Language and Literature), B.A. (Mass Communication)
Nationality: Singaporean
jane.cheu@igbis.edu.my

Jason Spivey

DP Economics, Business & Management and MYP Individuals & Societies Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (International Education), B.A. (Secondary Education with an emphasis in Social Science)
Nationality: American
jason.spivey@igbis.edu.my

John Moore

MYP Science, DP Physics, ToK, Subject Leader (Science)
Qualification: MA (International Education); PGCE (Secondary); BSc (Physics)
Nationality: British
john.moore@igbis.edu.my

Karan Sondhi

MYP English Language and Literature
Qualification: M.A.; B.A. (Honours); B.Ed
Nationality: Canadian
karan.sondhi@igbis.edu.my

Laura Hernandez

MYP and DP Spanish Teacher
Qualification: BA (ELL), PGCE (Spanish)
Nationality: Spanish
laura.hernandez@igbis.edu.my

Leanne Harvey

Learning Support/ESOL
Qualification: Dip. Tchg. (Primary); Post Grad. Cert. (Reading Recovery)
Nationality: Australian
leanne.harvey@igbis.edu.my

Maheen Habib-Nayany

MYP/DP Mathematics
Qualification: M.Ed (Specialization in Comparative International Education); B.Sc. (Honours Environmental Biology); B.Ed. (Intermediate and Secondary Math and Biology)
Nationality: Canadian
maheen.habib@igbis.edu.my

Marc Green

MYP/DP Individuals & Societies
Qualification: BSc (Psych)
Nationality: British
marc.green@igbis.edu.my

Marc Koster

MYP and DP English Language and Literature Teacher, ToK, Subject Leader (English)
Qualification: B. Ed., Dip. Tchg (Secondary)
Nationality: Australian
marc.koster@igbis.edu.my

Marcus Wetherell

MYP Design, Grade Level Coordinator (Grade 9 & 10)
Qualification: B.Sc., QTS
Nationality: British
marcus.wetherell@igbis.edu.my

Matthew Marshall

MYP Individuals & Societies and DP Geography Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (History/Geography), B.Ed. (Secondary Social Studies), M.Ed. (International Education)
Nationality: Canadian
matthew.marshall@igbis.edu.my

Mu Rong

MYP and DP Chinese Language & Literature Teacher
Qualification: M.B.A., B.A. (English), Teacher Certificate (Secondary Chinese)
Nationality: Chinese
rong.mu@igbis.edu.my

Nathalie Chotard

Service & CAS Coordinator, French & English Language Acquisition Teacher
Qualification: BA (English for International Business); PGCE Secondary (Modern Foreign Languages)
Nationality: French
nathalie.chotard@igbis.edu.my

Peter Fowles

Grade 6 Coordinator, MYP Individuals & Societies Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed. (Holistic Education), Dip. Env. Ed., Cert. Tchg. (Secondary)
Nationality: New Zealander
peter.fowles@igbis.edu.my

Princess Barcega

MYP Science & DP Physics Teacher
Qualification: Bachelor in Secondary Education (Physics), MAT Physics
Nationality: Filipino
princess.barcega@igbis.edu.my

Rachel Jikeli

MYP and DP Mathematics Teacher
Qualification: B.Sc.(Hons)(Chem., Math.); B.Ed. (Intermediate and Secondary Divisions)
Nationality: Canadian
rachel.jikeli@igbis.edu.my

Ruth Spracklan

MYP PHE, Athletics Coordinator
Qualification: M.Sc. (Multidisciplinary Studies in Education); B.Sc. (Sport and Exercise Sciences) PGCE (Physical Education)
Nationality: British
ruth.spracklan@igbis.edu.my

Yuri Kim

Grade 11-12 Coordinator, MYP and DP Chinese B and DP Korean A Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (TESOL, Foreign Language Teaching); B.A. (English Literature and Language)
Nationality: Korean
yuri.kim@igbis.edu.my

Whole School

Adam Morris

ICT Coordinator & Computer Science Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Philosophy); PGCE (Secondary)
Nationality: American
adam.morris@igbis.edu.my

Adrianna Astle

Whole School Tech Coach
Qualification: B.A. (English), B.Ed. (Secondary), Dip. Teaching and Learning, QTS
Nationality: New Zealander
adrianna.astle@igbis.edu.my

Juan Francisco Urbán

PYP, MYP & DP Spanish Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Teaching Spanish as a Foreign Language); M.A. (Research of Language and Literature Teaching); B.A. (Linguistics)
Nationality: Spanish
juan.urban@igbis.edu.my

Karen Skepper

Counsellor/Student Services
Qualification: Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Psychology (PGDipAppPsych); Bachelor of Social Science (BSocSc)
Nationality: Australian
karen.skepper@igbis.edu.my

Kerri Chan

Whole School Teacher Librarian
Qualification: BA (Liberal Studies), MS (Library Science and Information Technologies)
Nationality: American
kerri.chan@igbis.edu.my

Pei Yee Chai

PYP Chinese Language, Bahasa Malaysia Teacher, MYP Host Nation Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Teaching Chinese to Speakers of Other Languages), B.A. (Chinese Language and Literature), B.A. (Business Administration)
Nationality: Malaysian
peiyee.chai@igbis.edu.my

Rob Pendlebury

MYP PHE, PYP & MYP Arts Teacher
Qualification: MA, PGCE, B.A. (Hons)
Nationality: British
rob.pendlebury@igbis.edu.my

Sean Lovesey

PYP/MYP Physical Education Teacher, Subject Leader (PHE)
Qualification: Bachelor of Arts in Education
Nationality: British
sean.lovesey@igbis.edu.my

Sue Ferguson

Head of Student Services
Qualification: B. Sc.; Grad Dip Adolescent Health and Welfare
Nationality: Australian
sue.ferguson@igbis.edu.my

Ting Drechsler (Chen)

Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (International Education), PGCE, M.Sc., B.A. (Language)
Nationality: Chinese
ting.drechsler@igbis.edu.my