Faculty & Staff

The child is at the centre of every parent’s world, and likewise every IB programme. IGBIS firmly believes the single most important factor that determines the quality of education for all children is the teacher.

IGBIS teachers are highly qualified, internationally experienced, and enthusiastic IB practitioners, who show commitment to the children in their care. In this context, IGBIS teachers have successful experience with IB PYP, IB MYP, IB CP and/or IB Diploma Programme, and embody the spirit of both the IB and of the inclusiveness that underlies the school’s Vision and Mission. As role models of the IB Learner Profile, the teachers exhibit the skills required to work in collaborative planning teams and the flexibility to undertake more than one subject area.

Senior Management Team

Anne Fowles


Head of School
Qualification: M.B.A. (Educational Management), Adv. Dip. Tchg., Diploma of Education
Nationality: New Zealander
anne.fowles@igbis.edu.my

Mrs. Fowles has over 20 years of diverse experience leading schools in New Zealand, China, Thailand, Mongolia, Fiji and Malaysia. She is experienced as a team chair for the Council of International Schools (CIS), the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) and the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) accreditation agencies, as well as being an IB team leader for school verification and evaluation, and an IB workshop leader, consultant, field representative and presenter at various conferences. 

Mrs. Fowles is a member of the Council of International Schools Board of Trustees and President of the Association of Malaysian IB Schools. Previously she has been Chair of the IB Heads Council, a member of the IB Board of Governors, a member of the IB Asia Pacific Regional Council, Chair of the Association of Chinese and Mongolian IB Schools (ACMIBS) and President of the Association of China and Mongolia International Schools (ACAMIS). 

IGB International School offers a premier International Baccalaureate experience to its students, provided by very experienced teachers in an exceptional school facility. Mrs. Fowles is proud to be its Head of School.

Simon Millward

Elementary School Principal
Qualification: M.B.A. (Educational Management), B.A. (Hons.) Physical Education & Recreation, QTS (Primary Education)
Nationality: British
simon.millward@igbis.edu.my

Mr Millward has been teaching abroad for over 20 years and has previously worked in schools in Kuwait, Germany, Thailand and Turkey. He has extensive training and experience teaching both the PYP and MYP IB programmes. He is a workshop leader in both the PYP and the MYP, and he is a PYP school visitor team leader and team member. He loves to coach football of all ages and has been known to MC and sing at school events.

Michael Arcidiacono

Secondary School Principal
Qualification: Doctorate Of Educational Leadership, K-12 Administrative License, M.Sc. (Mathematics), B.A. (Mathematics)
Nationality: American
michael.arcidiacono@igbis.edu.my

Dr Arcidiacono originally trained as a teacher of mathematics and has taught all levels of MYP, IGCSE and DP mathematics over the course of his educational career. He moved into school administration while working internationally inBrazil and subsequently completed his master’s degree and administrative licensure in the United States. He then worked in Suzhou, China as MiddleSchool Principal of an MYP school. While in China, Dr Arcidiacono developed his passion for the MYP, led the 1-1 laptop integration initiative and initiated student-Led Conferences, amongst other contributions.

Before joining IGBIS in 2016, Dr Arcidiacono was the Head of Secondary of anMYP/IGCSE/DP international school in Sao Paulo, Brazil. There he managed the growth of a young school that doubled in population over a short period of time. Last year, he completed his doctorate in educational leadership.

Elementary School

Aga Chojnacka

PYP Coordinator
Qualification: M.A. Applied Linguistics (specialising in Teaching & Translation), B.A. (TEFL)
Nationality: Polish
aga.chojnacka@igbis.edu.my

Alexandru Milescu

PYP Music Teacher 
Qualification: B.A. in Music (Music Pedagogy); M.A. (Musicology), QTS
Nationality: Romanian
alex.milescu@igbis.edu.my

Caitlan Hurrell

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip. Teaching & Learning; B.Ed. endorsed with P.E.
Nationality: New Zealander
caitlan.hurrell@igbis.edu.my

Elli Lawson

Elementary Visual Art Teacher
Qualification: B.A. Ed. (Hons) (Design Technology), QTS
Nationality: British
elli.lawson@igbis.edu.my

Ivy Tean-Cant

PYP Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: Cert. TEFL, London Teacher Training College
Nationality: Malaysian
ivy.cant@igbis.edu.my

Jeanette Rowe

EY – KG Coordinator
Qualification: BA.Hons (Health Studies) AMI Primary Diploma
Nationality: British
jeanette.rowe@igbis.edu.my

Karen Skepper

KG-Grade 8 Counselor
Qualification: Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Psychology (PGDipAppPsych); Bachelor of Social Science (BSocSc)
Nationality: Australian
karen.skepper@igbis.edu.my

Kari Twedt

PYP Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed. (Teaching), B.A. (Elementary Education)
Nationality: American
Kari.Twedt@igbis.edu.my

Kenneth Rowe

PYP Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed (Curriculum and Instruction); B.A. (Sociology) Nationality: American
ken.rowe@igbis.edu.my

Leanne Harvey

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip. Tchg. (Primary), Post Grad. Cert. (Reading Recovery) Nationality: Australian
leanne.harvey@igbis.edu.my

Lisa McClurg

PYP Teacher and ES Language Coordinator
Qualification: B.Ed.
Nationality: New Zealander
lisa.mcclurg@igbis.edu.my

Lizzie Hudson

PYP Learning Support Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Inclusive and Special Education)
Nationality: American, British
elizabeth.hudson@igbis.edu.my

Marshall Hudson

PYP Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Elementary Education)
Nationality: American
marshall.hudson@igbis.edu.my

Mary Richards

PYP Teacher
Qualification: B.Ed. (Hons) (Early Years, Maths and Expressive Arts)
Nationality: British
mary.richards@igbis.edu.my

Megan Ngatai

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip. Tchg. and Learn. (Primary), B.A. (Psychology)
Nationality: New Zealander
megan.ngatai@igbis.edu.my

Nadia Qistina Abdul Halim

Fireflies Teacher
Qualification: BA (Early Childhood Education), Foundation TESL
Nationality: Malaysian
nadia.halim@igbis.edu.my

Nancy Fu

PYP Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: M.S., B.Ed. (Primary), B.A. (English Literature and Language)
Nationality: Chinese
nancy.fu@igbis.edu.my

Olha Rohachova

PYP Teacher
Qualification: PhD (Ed.)
Nationality: Ukrainian
olha.rohachova@igbis.edu.my

Rhona Taylor

PYP Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Hons) European Studies (with French), PGCE (Primary), British Cycling Coach (L.2)
Nationality: British
rhona.taylor@igbis.edu.my

Sally Watters

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip.Ed., Bachelor of Arts / Languages
Nationality: Australian
sally.watters@igbis.edu.my

Shireen Blakeway

PYP Teacher and ES Mathematics Coordinator
Qualification: M.Sc. (Education Management), COGE, B.A.(Hons.) Geography, PGCE (Primary)
Nationality: British, Australian
shireen.blakeway@igbis.edu.my

Steven Harvey

PYP Teacher
Qualification: Dip.Tchg., Grad.Dip.Ed. (Computers in Education)
Nationality: Australian
steven.harvey@igbis.edu.my

Secondary School

Darryl Harding

MYP Coordinator
Qualification: B.Sc, MA, M.Ed, Graduate Certificate in Ed. Leadership, 7-12 Mathematics Certified
Nationality: Canadian
darryl.harding@igbis.edu.my

Magnus Drechsler

DP/CP Coordinator
Qualification: M.A. (International Educational Leadership and Change), Post Graduate Certificate of Education in Secondary Education, B.Sc. Medicinal Chemistry
Nationality: German
magnus.drechsler@igbis.edu.my

Adam Morris

IT Systems Innovation, English B Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Philosophy), PGCE (Secondary)
Nationality: American
adam.morris@igbis.edu.my

Andrew Blumbergs

DP History, MYP Individuals & Societies Teacher, Subject Leader (Individuals & Societies)
Qualification: Ph.D., Grad. Dip. Ed., B.A. (Hons) and B. Com.
Nationality: Australian
andrew.blumbergs@igbis.edu.my

Anthony Spivey-Jones

DP Economics, Business & Management and MYP Individuals & Societies Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Modern Asian Studies), Grad. Dip. Tchg (Secondary)
Nationality: British, Australian
anthony.spivey-jones@igbis.edu.my

Bill Mitchell

Secondary School Counsellor, Social and Emotional Counsellor
Qualification: B.A., B.Ed., M.Sc.
Nationality: Canadian
bill.mitchell@igbis.edu.my

Darren Aherne

MYP Science and DP Biology Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed. (Secondary Education), B.Sc. (Aquatic Biology)
Nationality: American
darren.aherne@igbis.edu.my

Dean Watters

MYP and DP Mathematics Teacher, Subject Leader (Mathematics)
Qualification: B.E., Dip. Ed.
Nationality: Australian
dean.watters@igbis.edu.my

Gizem Inanç

MYP Language Acquisition & ESOL Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (Foreign Language Education, English Language Teaching) M.A. (Media and Communication Studies), CELTA certificate Nationality: Turkish
gizem.inanc@igbis.edu.my

Greta Corney

English Language and Literature Teacher
Qualification: B.A. Ed. (Secondary, English), B.A. Creative Industries (Visual Art)
Nationality: Australian
greta.corney@igbis.edu.my

Hadewych Dujardin

Instrumental Music Coordinator, MYP Performing Arts and DP Music Teacher
Qualification: B.A. Music (Music-Flute, Composition)
Nationality: Belgian
hadewych.dujardin@igbis.edu.my

Heather Blake

MYP and DP Art Teacher
Qualification: M.Ed, International Education; GDip, Education; BFA, Art Education; BA, Psychology & Art History
Nationality: Canadian
heather.blake@igbis.edu.my

Ian Ellston

MYP and DP Design Teacher , Subject Leader (Design)
Qualification: BEd(Hons)
Nationality: British
ian.ellston@igbis.edu.my

Jamie Cant

MYP Performing Arts and DP Theatre Teacher
Qualification: BA (English) Dip Ed (Drama, English, Humanities)
Nationality: Australian
jamie.cant@igbis.edu.my

Jane Cheu

MYP and DP Chinese B Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Chinese Language and Literature), B.A. (Mass Communication)
Nationality: Singaporean
jane.cheu@igbis.edu.my

John Moore

MYP Science and Mathematics, DP Physics, ToK, Subject Leader (Science)
Qualification: B.Sc., PGCE, M.A. Ed (International Education)
Nationality: British
john.moore@igbis.edu.my

Jo Spivey-Jones

MYP Design Technology Teacher, Learning Support
Qualification: B.Ed. (Secondary), Dip. Tchg. (Secondary)
Nationality: British
jo.spivey-jones@igbis.edu.my

Juan Francisco Urbán

PYP Spanish, MYP Spanish LA, DP Spanish B, CP Language Development Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (Teaching Spanish as a Foreign Language), M.A. (Research of Language and Literature Teaching), B.A. (Linguistics) Nationality: Spanish
juan.urban@igbis.edu.my

Laura Hernandez

MYP and DP Spanish B Teacher
Qualification: BA (ELL), PGCE (Spanish)
Nationality: Spanish
laura.hernandez@igbis.edu.my

Marc Green

IB Psychology and MYP Individuals & Societies Teacher
Qualification: BSc (Psych)
Nationality: British
marc.green@igbis.edu.my

Marc Koster

MYP and DP English Language and Literature Teacher, ToK, Subject Leader (English)
Qualification: B. Ed., Dip. Tchg (Secondary)
Nationality: Australian
marc.koster@igbis.edu.my

Marcus Wetherell

MYP Design, MYP Individuals & Societies Teacher, Grade Level Coordinator (Grade 9 & 10)
Qualification: B.Sc., QTS
Nationality: British
marcus.wetherell@igbis.edu.my

Matthew Marshall

MYP Individuals & Societies and DP Geography Teacher
Qualification: B.A. (History/Geography), B.Ed. (Secondary Social Studies), M.Ed. (International Education)
Nationality: Canadian
matthew.marshall@igbis.edu.my

Mu Rong

MYP and DP Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: M.B.A., B.A. (English), Teacher Certificate (Secondary Chinese)
Nationality: Chinese
rong.mu@igbis.edu.my

Nathalie Chotard

Service as Action and CAS Coordinator, MYP & DP French B Teacher
Qualification: B.A., PGCE (Secondary Modern Foreign Languages)
Nationality: French
nathalie.chotard@igbis.edu.my

Princess Barcega

MYP Science & DP Physics Teacher
Qualification: Bachelor in Secondary Education (Physics), MAT Physics
Nationality: Filipino
princess.barcega@igbis.edu.my

Rachel Jikeli

MYP & DP Mathematics Teacher, Grade Level Coordinator (Grade 7 & 8)
Qualification: B.Sc.(Honours – Chemistry and Mathematics), B.Ed. (Intermediate and Secondary Divisions)
Nationality: Canadian
rachel.jikeli@igbis.edu.my

Whole School

Abdul Rashid Mohd Amin

PYP & MYP Host Nation: Malay Language and DP Malay A Teacher
Qualification: Certificate of Teaching Malaysia, Diploma in Mathematics Education.
Nationality: Malaysian
rashid.mohdamin@igbis.edu.my

Geoffrey Derry

Technology Integrator & Specialist, Technology Coordinator
Qualification: B.Comm., Grad. B. Lshp., B.Ed. (Primary)
Nationality: Australian
geoffrey.derry@igbis.edu.my

Kerri Chan

Whole School Teacher Librarian, Personal Project Coordinator
Qualification: BA (Liberal Studies), MS (Library Science and Information Technologies)
Nationality: American
kerri.chan@igbis.edu.my

Rob Pendlebury

PYP & MYP PHE, PYP & MYP Visual Arts Teacher Qualification: MA, PGCE, B.A. (Hons)
Nationality: British
rob.pendlebury@igbis.edu.my

Ruth Spracklan

PYP & MYP PHE Teacher, Athletics Director
Qualification: M.Sc. (Multidisciplinary studies in education) B.Sc. (Sport and Exercise Sciences) PGCE (Physical Education)
Nationality: British
ruth.spracklan@igbis.edu.my

Scott Ngatai

PYP & MYP PHE Teacher, Activities CoordinatorQualification: B. Phys.Ed., Dip. Tchg.
Nationality: New Zealander
scott.ngatai@igbis.edu.my

Sean Lovesey

PYP & MYP PHE Teacher and Subject Leader

Qualification: Bachelor of Arts in Education
Nationality: British
sean.lovesey@igbis.edu.my

Sean McDermott

Head of Student Services

Qualification: M.S. Edu (Leadership), B. Ed Tchg, Dip. Tchg
Nationality: New Zealander
sean.mcdermott@igbis.edu.my

Ting Drechsler (Chen)

PYP & MYP Chinese Language Teacher
Qualification: M.A. (International Education), PGCE, M.Sc., B.A. (Language)
Nationality: Chinese
ting.drechsler@igbis.edu.my

Yuri Kim

MYP and DP Chinese B and Korean A Teacher, Grade Level Coordinator
(G11-G12) and Whole School Coordinator (Languages)
Qualification: M.A. (TESOL, Foreign Language Teaching), B.A. (English Literature and Language)
Nationality: Korean
yuri.kim@igbis.edu.my